Wednesday, February 24, 2021
Text Size
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Is it auhtorized to race with two spinnaker poles?

Is it auhtorized to race with two spinnaker poles? 8 years 11 months ago #393

  • jbdupont
  • jbdupont's Avatar
Many boats are now racing with two poles, however class rules and championship rules are clearly stating that:

4.2 The Organising Authority shall carry out such measurement as is directed by the International
Measurer. As a minimum, all sails and spars shall be checked and all boats shall be weighed. The
Notice of Race and the Sailing Instructions shall specify that no more than two suits of sails, one set of
spars, one centreboard and one rudder may be presented for measurement. The Race Committee may
direct further measurement or restrictions subject to the agreement of the IEC.
(1st Jan 2006)

According to the above the organising authority shall control every boat and make sure only one set of spars is measured (in other words, one mast, one boom, one pole, one rudder and one centerboard)

In addition measurement rules state:

7.4.1 The spinnaker pole length shall not exceed 2516mm. The spinnaker
pole fitting projection shall not exceed 50mm.

(1st Jan 2010)

The use of singular (the spinnaker pole... and not the spinnaker poleS...) is crystal clear. In other words nowhere the class rules envision the use of two poles - on the contrary two poles are explicitely excluded so far.

So racing with two poles is not allowed according to current class rules.

At international level some boats are racing with two spinnaker poles but no doubt that should they have been protested they would have been disqualified for using two poles while racing.

This is a very serious point to be tackle before it becomes a real problem in major regattas in the near future and especially in La Rochelle wherer all boats coming for measurement with two poles shall not be autorized to sail should our class rules be adhere to.

Please note that no change of rules shall take effect before the 1st of Jan 2012 according to our class rules.

So unless the class rules document available on the international site were updated since, the response to the question "Is it authorized to race with two spinnaker poles?" is NO

Thanks to share your views with us on this matter.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Is it auhtorized to race with two spinnaker poles? 8 years 11 months ago #398

  • jbdupont
  • jbdupont's Avatar
According to what I heard lately and after several discussions,this is the outcome:
In view of turning this rule issue around for the World in La Rochelle, the organizing committee will supplement the Race Instructions so as to include the possibility to race with two poles and get the boat measured with two poles.

This fixes the short term rule issue.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 0.042 seconds

Member Login